Death where is your sting?

JMJDTF+

I went to a funeral today and it was a very interesting experience to go to a funeral on my birthday. My friend posted a birthday greeting on my wall and said “One year closer to seeing the Lord.” It had given me cause to stop and ponder death and dying. Many people view death as a sadness and an ending. While it’s true that she is no longer with me physically she is still with me. The pastor at her church said during the funeral that people like her never have a past tense. I know that the relationship the two of us had is something very special and the fact that I was able to take care of her while she was approaching death is something that won’t fade.

Though it may seem like a sadness and a loss death is merely a passing from one to the next. I know that we’ve all heard it many times before and sometimes when we are in the midst of sorrow it’s hard to grasp the truth of it. Right now I am both happy and sad which is something I’m sure those of you who have lost a loved one can understand. I’m sad because I’ll miss playing cards with her and I’ll miss sitting on her bed talking, laughing and joking with her. I’m happy because I have the faith to trust in God’s mercy and believe that it’s not going to be forever.

I don’t know exactly where this post is going but just remember this, death isn’t an permanent ending, it’s a temporary separation and a birth into something new.

~Maggie Rose

Thought for the day: Oh death, where is your sting? By death he conquered death and to those in the graves he gives unending life.

Leave a Reply

